TwitterRssFacebook youtube google+
Pages Menu
Categories Menu

2019 In-Print Awards

The only printing contest exclusively for in-plants!
Sponsored by IPMA and In-plant Graphics


It’s getting close to the time  to enter In-Print 2019. This is the only printing contest exclusively for in-plants. This contest is co-sponsored by IPMA and In-Plant Graphics and is a great opportunity to boast about the quality of your printing.

 Why should I enter the enter?

The contest offers a number of categories for both of your “Offset” and “Non-Offset” pieces and also provides:

  • A category for projects printed using both techniques.
  • Categories introduces in 2018 that are specifically for in-plants with 10 or fewer employees.
  • There are categories for both variable data and cross-media projects.
  • Three new categories are being added to Non-Offset for the 2019 contest, Category 27-Invitations, Category 28-SPECIAL PROJECTS: Toner (multi-part projects, menus, handouts, etc.) Category 29-SPECIAL PROJECTS: Inkjet/Dye Sub (specialty items [e.g, magnets, name tags], contour-cut items [e.g., stickers, sports graphics], items printed on rigid substrates [e.g., coasters, mugs], vinyl lettering, wraps, digital enhancements, etc.)
  • To review the complete category listing and rules for the 2019 In-Print Awards contest CLICK HERE

Only printed pieces produced in 2018 qualify for this contest

In order to reduce time for entering the contest an online registration form will be utilized.  Each entry must be registered through the online portal. Upon completion you will receive, via email, a confirmation of the entry registration with a registration number. This is the official entry form that will need to printed and included with your entry(s). 

The deadline to enter the contest is January 31, 2019. Review your printed work for 2018 and choose examples that are perfect in every way — great registration, crisp folds and no hickeys. Selecting flawless samples is the best way to ensure that your pieces make it through the first round of scrutiny by our eagle-eye judges.

In-Print 2018 judges Ben Fowler, Terry McSparin, Nathan Thole, Christopher Donlon and John Yerger take a close look at the entries. Judging in 2018 took a full 10 hours.

Contest judging will take place March 2019 by a panel of experts. They will award Gold, Silver and Bronze awards. Best of Show winner will be selected from the Gold winners. The winners name will be revealed at the awards dinner during IPMA’s conference, taking place in June 2-4, 2019 in Louisville, KY..

2018 In-Print judges: Chris Donlon, Nathan Thole, John Yerger, Terry McSparin, Bob Neubauer, Larry Clements, Ben Fowler

Contest Judging

In picking the award winners, judges take into consideration the complexity of the entry,  level of difficulty required to produce job, and often refer to the entry forms to see what type of equipment was utilized. (i.e. A four-color job printed on a single-color press might outweigh a similar job printed on a four-color press.) On the other hand, some jobs with excellent printing, failed to win prizes due to poor stitching. TIPS

Content & pictures courtesy of Bob Neubauer, In-plant Graphics Editor

***Please beware of a non-authorized vendor (ShowMark Media LLC) soliciting the winners of the In-Print Contest for a recognition award. This is in no way authorized by either IPMA nor In-plant Graphics. We do not charge the winners of this contest for their original awards. Duplicate copies are made available to those who wish to purchase.***

Click to view the 2018 Winners company and category.

Photo Credit: Bob Neubauer, In-plant Graphics


2018 – Bloomberg INK, John Cruser / University of Texas-Austin, Richard Beto

2018 Best of Show
Non-Offset>Bloomberg INK

2018 Best of Show Non-Offset Winning Piece

2018 Best of Show Offset Winning Piece


2017 –  Bloomberg Ink, John Cruser / University of Texas-Austin, Richard Beto
2016 – The Church of Scientology / Yale University
2015 – Brigham Young University / Excellus BlueCross BlueShield
2014 – Brigham Young University / East Carolina University
2013 – The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints / Washington State University
2012 – University of Minnesota/University of North Texas
2011 – Brigham Young University/University of North Texas
2010 – University of Oklahoma/University of North Texas
2009 – Briggs & Stratton
2008 – Conoco Phillips
2007 – Conoco Phillips
2006 – University of Delaware
2005 – University of Missouri-Columbia
2004 – University of Delaware
2003 – University of Missouri-Columbia
2002 – Phillips Petroleum
2001 – Boeing
2000 – SAFECO
1999 – University of Missouri-Columbia
1998 – Hitachi Data Systems
1997 – Boeing
1996 – Phillips Petroleum
1995 – Brigham Young University
1994 – Phillips Petroleum
1993 – Boeing
1992 – USAA
1991 – Boeing
1990 – Boeing


2018 – Bloomberg INK

2017 – Liberty University
2016 – Oklahoma University
2015 – Houston ISD

2018 In-Print Winners:

2017 In-Print Winners:

2016 In-Print Winners:

2015 In-Print Winners:

2014 In-Print Winners: